Exciting Day

Well, I have been wanting to make some changes in the classroom and pretty much changing it into a more music based learning system. The problem is I don’t have the music to do this. I was talking to Nahum about it and he said I needed to go to Sonlight, It is an American ran school here, that he went to. So on Friday, Me and Courtney and Den Den and Gilbert and Nahum and Jack went to Sonlight. They all went on a tour and I talked to the kindergarten teacher and she jumped right on board and is making some cd’s for my classroom and was so excited to do it, it was so great talking to her and bouncing ideas off of her. Well I met back up with the crew and we went to the missions campus that is basically across the street and Gilbert’s mom was there so he got to spend some time with her. (Gilbert is like a boarding student for the school). And it was so good to see them together and for them to have that time. We just goofed off out back they had a merry-go-round and Den Den had a great time on it. Then on the tap tap ride back it started to rain, they stopped and we could hold a tarp over us, but is was really awkward, so we gave up but I held it over Gilbert, who was trying to brush off every drop that hit him, but the day was so fun. I did have to cancel afternoon school because Sonlight is in Port au Paix about 45 minutes away. Son Son came to school and I told him there was no school and he just sat beside  me and said Stephanie why, and then some stuff I did not understand. But he wanted to sing, so we just sat on the swing and sang every song I know in Creole, it was such a perfect moment. That kid is so cute. All in all, great day.

Leave a comment