Is Disability God’s Design?

Hi, this is Shannon, Executive Director of Kimmy’s House and mom to Kimmy.
I am going to be blogging on my personal blog: wwww.twentysixkeystrokes.wordpress.com about the subject of disability and God’s design. I am posting a short intro here in case anyone is interested in reading it and joining the discussion. I hope to write about this over the next few weeks.

Is disability God’s design?
How do you immediately answer this question? Why do you give the answer you do?

I wrestled briefly with God on this subject back in 2001, when He knitted together in my womb, a fearfully and wonderfully made daughter. These questions are resurfacing, more than a decade later in our work with Kimmy’s House- global special needs orphan care. I feel God sanctifying me. Sanctifying Laura and Erin -us- Kimmy’s House- our ministry. My family. My boys. People around me.

I sense God declaring Himself, offering a deeper knowledge of Him so that we can, like the Psalmist; “Magnify the Lord, exalt His name together, to Praise the Lord, call upon His name; declare His deeds among the peoples, declare His mighty acts. Meditate on the glorious splendor of His majesty and on His wondrous works… read more

2 thoughts on “Is Disability God’s Design?

  1. Hi! First of all, thank you so much for your eloquent description of what we as parents of special needs children experience. You said it very well, and asked the questions of God that I think at one time or another we ALL have asked him.

    Everything you said is true — this is also true in my heart. My son is a GIFT — he is so transparent, so naturally loving, no guile, not a mean bone in his body, so happy, so much wonder in his heart. I wonder mostly that God isn’t putting these children on the Earth to teach us about love.

    My 15yo son doesn’t know how to tie his shoes, but he doesn’t know how to hate either.

    My biggest worry, what is heaviest on my heart, is what happens to him after his loving parents are gone, no longer able to care for him and to protect his vulnerabilities? Maybe a subject for a different blog!

  2. Thank you for your comment and suggestion on a follow up topic. That is a much needed discussion.
    Bless you and THANK YOU for taking good care of your son and advocating for him!

Leave a Reply

